I Feel like I Just Won an Oscar!

versatile-blogger-award

My first nomination ever and now I understand how those Golden Globe and Oscar nominees feel… it’s an honor to be nominated.

I couldn’t possibly beat Mary-Ann’s Snoopy jig – done twice – upon being nominated so I won’t even try.  A heartfelt thank you to her for having a blog that I delight in following, Not the Family Business and for being generous in passing on the hug with this award.   Though along with it comes all the guilt because I have not kept up with it as I should. It makes me feel a bit less guilty though that those who don’t know me have a bit of info/photos/reflection to be had in the pages already written.  However, this will spur me into action to bring it up to date!

So I am now supposed to share 7 random things about myself.   Hmmm, where do I start when I already feel I have shared so much?

1) Versatile.  The definition describes me quite well.  I grew up in 10 different countries because my father worked for the United Nations and relocated every 2-4 years.  Had I not been versatile I would not have been able to survive the first day in a new school or in a new country with new languages and cultures.

2) I am an only child.

3) Though my “official” profession is actor I have a huge passion for photography, painting, writing and traveling.  All of which I must, must do.

4) I can’t live without music whether it be the one in my soul and heart or the one one I hear.  (That makes me sound kind of kooky, doesn’t it?)

Happy5) I love to smile and I do so often for I am grateful for so much!  (Does this count as two?)

Bike / Amsterdam6) I don’t know how to ride a bike.  Don’t judge me.  Balloon over Bagan And I’m terrified of heights.  (Yes, this definitely counts as two.)

7)  When I was awarded this my first thought was: “Oh my, I’m in the middle of moving I don’t have time for a post!” and now I can’t be happier that I’m doing it or that someone thought me worthy of it.

Blogs That I Follow

The Write Transition  Her writing is hilarious and she always makes me laugh.  She has a book out that isn’t funny just really entertaining.

The Yum Yum Foodie  What can I say.  He loves to eat and travel and has great tips for both.

Scott’s Perspectives   I like his perspective and he lives in Thailand.  Think I want to retire in Chiang Mai.

Wanderlustress  She does it all and she lives in one of my favorite places in the world.

Where’s Phil  He has a plan… and photos that bring out the wonder in common scenes.

Beyond the Brush   She likes photography and painting.  My kind of gal.

Soul Dipper  Because she truly has a good soul.

Along the Way  I like the fresh outlook she brings to her trips.

When Life Clicks  Johanna’s photography is innovative and fun.

Paths Unwritten  He has a degree in writing and anthropology and doesn’t know what to do with them.

Gallivance  Like their traveling and the origin of their blog name.

And of course, Not the Family Business

So there it is.  And so it goes.

Myanmar

Categories: Uncategorized, Versatile Blogger Award | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 23 Comments

Post navigation

23 thoughts on “I Feel like I Just Won an Oscar!

  1. richard yniguez

    Congrats my dear…very well deserved!

    • Thank you! Love writing, photographing, traveling and sharing my experiences. This is a boost I needed to get back into it. You have always encouraged me and it is appreciated.

  2. Joe C.

    Awesome!

  3. Congratulations Lidia! Cant say I blame them for nominating you, I’s always entertained with your blog. Good luck and thanks for the shout out.

    P.S. That is one very colorful sofa.

  4. Congratulations!!! And thanks for the nod!

  5. Awesome Lidia, well done. Looking forward to reading of your new adventures!

  6. List of nominations? I’ll have to look up what that entails. Still, thanks.

  7. Thanks so much for the award nod and for the kind words. Very thoughtful of you! I think I have this one, but the recognition is always appreciated. And I’m with you on heights. Not my cup of tea. 🙂

    Good luck with the move!

  8. Thanks and congrats Lidia!

  9. Congrats Lidia – positive feedback feels great!

  10. Congratulations on your “Blog Oscar”, Lidia. In my humble opinion, nothing better than the Versatility Award for you after you took the highway North, right into snow country, with an Aussie as a co-pilot!! I’ve known warriors less brave.

    And thank you so much for acknowledging Soul Dipper. It means a great deal – especially from you. Like you, I feel a bit remiss – I have been blogging less as well. The fact that you do see the “soul” in my blog tells me a lot about yours…which is what attracted me. Yours shine clearly as you write your travels.

    I just caught up on your posts – so sorry the weather was dismal. I wondered what possessed you to visit Seattle during the worst weather months of the year. Was it the desire for adventure? Since I live on an Island near Victoria, I’ve been to and through Seattle a few times. Each time, the sun’s been shining gloriously. However, I’ve not had the time to explore the city.

    I don’t know why, but my little island receives much less rain than Vancouver or Victoria – and far less than Seattle. The clouds must be restocking themselves when they pass us. We gladly accept a little extra rain rather than having to shovel snow like the rest of our province and country.

    I’ve always wondered what the glass “sky lights” looked like so thank you for providing views from above and below. While reading the disappointment dripping off the description of the poor guide attempting a theatrical career while holding a captive audience, I couldn’t help giggle, but imagined your battle with endurance. Must have been like sitting in the orchestra pit with the violinist out of tune for the entire performance!

    • P.S. Lidia, I wanted to acknowledge your mother’s ‘deathiversary’. No matter how many years pass, these dates can cause such unexpected emotional eruption. Each year, I say, ‘Okay, I know the date’s coming. I’m grateful that (Mom or Dad) is no longer here enduring pain. I don’t have to be affected by this upcoming deathiversary.’

      I have even cloistered to spare the world from my presence for that day and controversy still worms its way into my heart. I know attitude and thought do create so I need to take a different approach perhaps. As you can see, I’m still practicing and it’s 11 years for Mom and 18 years for Dad (this Wed. This year, instead of stiffening, I’ll go with it.

  11. Hey, Lidia, what makes you even doubt you’re not versatile? Have you read through your posts again? I’m now intrigued by the list you provided. I’ll be sure to check out the bloggers you like (except me!) maybe i’ll enjoy reading them too!

  12. I can see why you were nominated. I’m still getting a handle of all these blogger awards. I understand that the Versatile Blogger award is truly an honor.

    • Aw, thank you Henry! I consider an honor just that I have people reading and traveling with me!

  13. Dearest Lidia, I don’t know how it happened, but this slipped through the cracks for us. So please accept our apologies for our tardiness. First, belated congratulations on your award. We can’t imagine anyone more versatile than you – we didn’t know your Dad was with the U.N. Cool!:) And we are incredibly honored that you passed it on to us. Thank you so much. It’s a privilege to be in such interesting company. Wish you all the best, Terri & James @ Gallivance.net

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

