Sing To Me Eric Clapton…

SuitcaseIt’s 3:30 am and the rooster sings.  My alarm clock is a rooster crowing.  I think it takes me back to times in my grandpa’s house where often I was awaken by one.  I have packed almost all night.  Fretted about just about everything.  Do I have my passport?  Should I take this dress?  How much of this and of that will fit?  Do I have my passport?   My permanent resident card?  I am now officially a Spaniard I have the passport to prove it!  Will it present problems?  I have a European Union passport! Passport Am I going to be okay?  More packing.  No I don’t need this much.  Is the suitcase too heavy?  Do I have my passport? Ay!!!

My flight leaves at 7:30 am.  Pick up by cab at 4:30 am.  Unreasonable times to be awake.  So worth it to be able to be London bound.    Dean’s flight leaves at 7:00 pm.  His is a direct flight.  Mine stops in Chicago.  Change plane to Berlin.  Change plane and airline to London.  I arrive a mere two hours before he does.

A cab picks us up.  The fare ends up being not the $50 or $60 they estimated but $75 plus tip.  Next time we take a car service.   We are both groggy.

My first flight is with American Airlines.  American  My next one with AirBerlin. Air BerlinEverything is self check now and I would rename it as all-confusing.  What happened to the civilized way of doing this?  But we get it all sorted out with help by personnel there for that purpose, and after over more than 40 minutes we are all set.  I get Priority Access thanks to my AA frequent flyer status.  I like.  They say that with Priority Access I can enter the Admirals Club.  Don’t believe them.  Dean gets a day-pass; I get a smile and “I’m sorry but either you pay or can’t come in.” Then it dawns on me that I have a Klout score of more than 55 which allows me to go in, right?  “Yes, mam.  Let’s see? ”  I show them, way higher… yay!  Buuuuut there is no barcode.  Huh?  Barcode.  Yes, please send to your phone.  So I try and it doesn’t happen.  Sorry mam.  Ugh!

So we go to breakfast in the only crappy sit down restaurant/bar in the terminal.  Have a lovely conversation with a couple returning from Kuai.  Then I head to my gate where Priority Access is once again a good thing and I board first.  But before that I say goodbye.  We will meet again in a Costa Coffee -ground floor, Terminal 4 in Heathrow.  Seems to me that this past year, and even the one before has been a whirlwind of departures and arrivals.  Sadness and joy, laced and inevitable interconnected.

And what does all this have to do with Eric Clapton?  What awaits us in London is two nights of Eric Clapton at the Royal Albert Hall along with many other adventures which you and I will be taking together.  See you in London!

Categories: Ramblings | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Sing To Me Eric Clapton…

  1. EU Citizen? All this time I thought you were Californian. Or maybe both?

    Congrats on the new adventure. Will you be away for a long time?

    BTW, I love the rhythmic stream of consciousness tone of this story.

    • I am a Californian resident and lover. But I also am a Spaniard so EU passport too. So I am both!!! And Paraguayan by birth, and Australian in heart.

      Will probably be away about a month. Paris next to film.

      Thank you on the compliment Ben!! Much appreciated.

      Where in the world are you now?

  2. Good old Costa Coffee, ground floor Terminal 4 !A great meeting place and a favourite of mine.

    I hope you have packed warm clothes, it is unsually cold in London at the moment 🙂

    Welcome to London though!

    • I’m actually here already and yeah… it is coooooooold. Specially for this California girl! When are you coming back?

  3. Hi Lidi…thank goodness you popped around. I so seldom have time to go the Reader and go through all my subscribed blogs these days, BUT I love coming here and seeing what you are doing. Where you are. Who you are with. Which nationality you’re “wearing”. Good grief, Lidi, Snowden NEEDS you. Get over to Russia, marry him and get him into Paraquay! 😀

    Thanks for keeping our connection. I adore catching up with you! Keep Warm!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

