Being a Child Again

Today we start off late.  We walk around the neighborhood, which has Fulham as the closest underground, and head off to Covent Gardens.  My pancita (belly for all you non-Spanish speaking peoples) is kind of grumbling so I must go to the closest eatery before I get cranky and unbearable to deal with.  First, however, we take a look around.Covent Gardens, London

 

And then literally dive into the first restaurant we find which happens to be an Italian one.  Bella Italia. BellaItalia1  Bella Italia, Italian restaurant, Covent Gardens, London  Food was excellent.  My salmon delicious. Dean’s spaghetti bolognese as well.

So now with pancita llena (full belly) we venture off to explore Covent Gardens.   There are all sorts of performers around.  People that look like statues, musicians, street musicians, street performers, Covent Gardens, Londonclowns, and Charlie Chaplin.  Charlie Chaplin, Covent Gardens, street performers, London    I’m liking this area.  It’s thriving.  Paella -which I am sure is cooked purely for my delight in the biggest paella pan I’ve seen. paella, Covent Gardens, London  Full of life and craziness. Business mixed with tourism.  Work and play cohabitating somewhat harmoniously.  Covent Gardens, London

 

Taxis (London cabs) waiting to whisk those that can’t handle it away.  London Cabs, taxis, Covent Gardens, London   London cabs, taxis, Covent Gardens, London

Theater is next!  How I love it.  Today I will be a child again.  Matilda is on the itinerary.  We go towards the West End where it is showing.  The Broadway equivalent of London.   Love the area.  WestEnd  West End, London, Matilda, theater district

 

Yay!

Matilda

 

I really think it clever how they have the directions to the seats and the cast written in chalk.  Stalls is the equivalent of orchestra in the States and that’s where we are headed.Matilda, theater, London, theater district, West End

The theater is smaller than expected which makes it quite cozy.  Matilda, London, theater, theater district, West End

We leave refreshed.  Matilda started slow and then was just perfect.  Left a smile on my face.  Walking around the area at night is fun.  Bicycle, West End, London   And what is London without Agatha Christie?  Agatha Christie, London, West End

But it’s unseasonably cold so a stop at a café is in order.  And since we are in the Italian theme a pseudo Italian café is in our path.  café, Caffe Concerto, West End, London, theater districtcafé, London, West End, Caffe Concerto

 

Back to the underground Underground, tube, London, Leicester Square metro   underground, tube, London metro, London  London, underground, metro, tube, Leicester Square metro   where even the locals are tired. 🙂  Earl's Court, London, underground, London tube, tube, metro

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Being a Child Again

  1. Chaplin said, “If what you are doing is funny, then you don’t have to be funny doing it”.

  2. It’s been a while, Lidia! So fun to see London with you. The last time I was there, we saw Mousetrap – its 25th year AND a number of original players were performing the night we went!

    I now have to trace back and see what I’ve missed. So glad you are well – I left you Seattle, cold, wet, rainy Seattle. Glad you survived! 😀

    • Awww, I have missed you as well!!!!
      Am going to try my darnest to keep up this time. 🙂 So glad to be in touch again!

  3. So, did you get to see Matilda? My nieces were raving about it after they saw it in NYC last April.

  4. Yes Mary-Ann!!! I did. I absolutely loved it. The little girl was fantastic. Actually everyone was. Well, though simply staged. I also went to see Charlie and the Chocolate Factory which was magical.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

