Sleep, a Move and Eric Clapton Sings!!

Flat Departure  We wake up (if you can call it that) and hear the rain fall.  Great reason to go back to sleep.  There’s the excuse of jetlag  -which we don’t have- but I will go with the fact that a lazy day was in order and that the weather provided the perfect excuse.

I’ve been wanting to see The Great Gatsby in 3D so once I get cabin fever we bus it rainy day, London, double-decker bus out to Covent Gardens to see it.  Turns out we had the wrong theater but ended up seeing it in a huge screen but not in 3D.  I wanted to love it.  I didn’t. But I didn’t dislike it.  It had good and bad.  A bit disappointed in the visuals.  Not an explosion of color and movement as Moulin Rouge was.  Some elements were a bit overused.  Leo did a great job.  Bit slow and then rushed on a resolution.

Next day is moving day and the weather still a bit yucky.  It has been unseasonable cold in this part of the world, or at least in London.  I take a walk around “my” neighborhood of Fulham and buy some things that will keep me warm.  By the time I arrive at the flat it’s check out time and the cleaning lady is already there.

Off we go to The Gore, our next residence in London.  We chose The Gore Hotel because it is a block and half from The Royal Albert Hall where Eric Clapton is playing and whose concert we are attending twice.  More on that later.

Our room 208 (Miss Ada) is not ready yet so we wait in the Green Room, not the anteroom before a performance but a much civilized tea room.  The Gore, Green Room,  A coffee table book of Jimmy Choos’ shoes and a cup of tea entertains me.  MsAdaSo does my computer.  The hotel is 150 years old, the building it is housed in is 200 years old.   We are in old London, in Kensington and a residential area.

The room is a corner room.  The Gore, London, Miss Ada, Room 208 All is old The Gore Hotel, London, Miss Ada, Room 208 except for the double pane windows which shields us from any traffic noise.  In the bathroom a surprise.  The Gore Hotel, London, Miss Ada, Room 208 A “throne” for a toilet with pull chain and all.  throne, The Gore, pull chain toilet,   The Gore Hotel, London, throne, toilet I laugh when I use it the first time (and do so every time thereafter).  The room has such a proper English feel to it.

Tutu finds his spot. TutuRoom

We get a handwritten welcome along with a tray of fruit which I devour. The Gore Hotel, London, Miss Ada, Room 208  The Gore Hotel, London, Miss Ada, Room 208

The weather hasn’t improved by the time of the concert but I still wear my highest heels, get a hotel umbrella and off we go to see Eric Clapton!  A snack in one of the RAH’s bar sets the mood for the night.

The Royal Albert Hall is a grande dame.  The Royal Albert Hall, Eric Clapton, London  Beautiful and plush in red and gold.  The Royal Albert Hall, RAH, London, Eric Clapton  So much has happened within its walls. Eric Clapton, The Royal Albert Hall, RAH, London

And then there is Eric!

 Eric Clapton, The Royal Albert Hall, RAH, London Eric Clapton, The Royal Albert Hall, RAH, London

Tears In Heaven.  I’m in heaven.  Eric Clapton, The Royal Albert Hall, RAH, London  Eric Clapton, The Royal Albert Hall, RAH, London

An acoustic set that was to die for! Eric Clapton, The Royal Albert Hall, RAH, London

The departure Eric Clapton, The Royal Albert Hall, RAH, London and the short one and half block commute to the hotel where I have desert, a creme catalane (basically a creme brulee), that was really good.  Tea from the green room and upstairs we go.

I am liking London much more than I have ever liked it from my previous trips.

Nighty, night.  Come with me tomorrow… we are going to be kids all over again and the day after we will have more of Eric Clapton.  We’ll have fun.  You’ll see.

 

 

 

 

Categories: Kensington, London, rainy day, United Kingdom | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sleep, a Move and Eric Clapton Sings!!

  1. I hope the rain makes way for some sunny days and flowers. Eric Clapton? Wow, what an opportunity!

    • Hi!! YES!! Eric Clapton was incredible!!! See my post on Eric Clapton was Phenomenal the Second Time Around. Saw him twice and to do so at The Royal Albert Hall was a dream!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

