Scouting in Paris

Today starts late again (I will stop pointing this out or you are going to think I always wake up late).  We are here to film a short and today we are going to meet and have a table read of sorts with Dean’s lead actress, Lydie Melki.  We meet her at the 16th Arrondissement where she lives and I immediately see her as “Sophie” who she will portray.  Casting long distance has its shortcoming but it seems that she will be a perfect fit. We chat, we read, we shoot the breeze, and we make the acquaintance of Buster, her Greek mix-breed.  dog, rescue, mix-breed, cuteness  Get ready for doggie picture overload.  dog, rescue, cuteness, mix-breed  dog, mix-breed, cuteness Buster4

We need to do some scouting and she needs to walk Buster so we leave to later reunite for dinner.  It will be 7:00 pm when we do so.  She is a bit surprised at the “early” dinner time.  I smile remembering 9:00 pm dinners in South America.  Parisians are more used to eating at 8:00 or 9:00 pm.  Most restaurants don’t even open before 7:00. We are looking for a bridge that gives off a sense of romance or longing.  We don’t quite find it but I get some cool shots.  One, of the Eiffel Tower with the Statue of Liberty (in a reduced size) in front of it.  The Statue was given by the Americans around 1888.  Originally it gave its back to New York and upon request by the Americans was repositioned and now faces the same direction the one in New York does. mini Statue of Liberty, Paris, France, Eiffel Tower, 16th Arrondissement, bridge, River Seine  Here are some other shots.  Not many, since in the next posts you will be seeing a lot of it.  Eiffe  Eiffel Tower, 16th Arrondissement, River Seine, Paris, France  Eiffel Tower, 16th Arrondissement, River Seine, Paris, France

We go to a restaurant Terrace Mirabeau, Chef Pierre Negrevergne, Pierre Négrevergne, food, great food, Paris restaurant she recommends: The Terrace Mirabeau, manned by Chef Pierre Négrevergne which is there and comes to our table.  We are seated, after all, in the best little corner of the place.  Food is absolutely fantastic!  Everything was above average.  As a grand finale, Dean has a trio of sorbets that, at least up to now, are the very best I have ever had. The Terrace Mirabeau, sorbets, dessert, 16th arrondissement I have a desert that looks like a hot dog – Paris-Bestes – (probably spelled wrong) that achieves making me stop talking altogether so as to enjoy it to the fullest. Paris, Paris-Bestes, The Terrace Mirabeau, 16th arrondissement, dessert Silence that comes as a good break since I have been struggling with my French but managed to have Lydie understand me and manage to translate a few things to Dean.  Fortunately she speaks some English too.

It started to pour so when we part we decide to go straight into the subway and home.

Tomorrow more scouting at Pere Lachaise, going to check out the houseboat we are moving to, more of the Eiffel Tower and just walking the streets of Paris.

Come with me.  I promise we will have fun!

Categories: 16th Arrondissement, Eiffel Tower, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Scouting in Paris

  1. It all sounds so wonderful. i’m jealous.

    • How can you be? Nothing beats the traveling you have done. 🙂 But I must say that the houseboat we are in right now with the Eiffel Tower outside our window is quite high on my list of wowwwwws.

  2. Hey Lidia, I love reading all your blogs and looking at all the pictures. I feel like I am traveling on the journey with. Thank you for sharing all of your travel experiences I truly enjoy them all. I also want to wish you all the best in your location scouting. Sending you big hugs and blessings.
    Lydia Nicole

    • So sweet of you Lydia!! Thank you so much. It really warms my heart when I hear a compliment like yours. One of the wonderful things about this blog is feeling that friends are with me in the journey.
      Thanks for the good wishes. It’s been a fantastic ride so far and I am so very grateful. 🙂

  3. I’m living vicariously and loving it! Bisoux.

  4. I really like the picture looking up the Seine to the tower, such a cool view of such a lovely city. I cannot wait to go back and explore it some more !

  5. You’ve spoiled me…I’ll never go back to Paris Las Vegas.

  6. That’s one fascinating canine.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

