Here’s the Key, Need to Get Back to the Rugby Game

St. Malo (or maybe it was just the mussels) has induced me into a sense of complete restfulness.  The day has been jam-packed with visual stimulation, emotional contentment, exercise and it has made me a bit tired.  I am longing for quietness and time spent relaxing doing nothing.

We have made a reservation at a farmhouse not far from St. Malo.  I am so craving the remoteness of it all, though I am a bit apprehensive as to how to get to it.  The owner has given us what seems to be an address.  FarmhouseOur GPS seems quite confused but we head in that direction and… do not find it.  We are on roads where only farmland sees us go and come and go and come back again.  GPS has given up on us and and we on her.  Farmland I text the owner in French on our French sim card/phone (so glad we have one) and he answers “My dear, not an address.  It’s the name of the farm.”  So on our way we see another farmhouse with people outside.  I get out and ask and they in turn ask me “Ah, you are the Australians that are going to stay at Dominque’s?” Yes… I mean no. Where is the farm? Don’t know how, but we reach it thanks to the actual Aussie at the wheel and guidance from above.

I am immediately in love.  Garden The farmhouse attached to the main house is rustic but just exactly where I want to be.  P1190798  The owner and an English-speaking friend are outside to greet us. P1190789A little fox terrier that can’t be dirtier and smellier if he tried is coming down the road.  Dominique introduces us to him. It’s the neighbor’s dog that comes to sleep with him to keep him company.  We are invited into Dominique’s home where he gives us a proud grand tour.  He has built it all by himself.  Even his Japanese garden is designed and planted by him.  P1190808The dog is trembling and I ask if he is cold.  No.  He has Parkinson.  A pang of remembrance of my mom and her disease hits me.  Is this a sign of some sort? My heart skips and I do not refuse the dog when he cuddles up to me, no matter how badly he smells.   We have tea.  We learn about my host.  I am charmed.  He has escaped the rat race after years with a company as their graphic artist.  He also suffered a devastating loss.  This is how he copes.  His visiting friend is building a cabin on the property and easing himself into farm life; he’s a commercial director.

His neighboring farm has cows.  We make their acquaintance.       P1190792  P1190793It’s almost 10 pm and it’s only now getting dark.  Magical hour is here…the sun is going down.

P1190795We settle in for the night.   The bedroom is on the second floor and quirky and fun.  To go up you open a “door” that is technically on the floor.  P1190805  And the bedroom has a lamp made by the owner (as most of the farmhouse).  P1190800  With a typewriter that reminds me that I write. P1190801 And a window P1190803 that looks out to the garden and the cows, and  the pasture and… I’m going to bed now.

P1190817We wake to fresh croissants, bread, a bottle of milk and tea at our doorstep.    I bring them into the kitchen.  P1190799  And go out, still in my pj’s. P1190836 How liberating is that? P1190810 P1190809

We are leaving today and I just want to enjoy every single moment of this peaceful feeling this farmhouse gives me.

I visit the cows and they are more curious about me than I of them.  I am thankful for the electric fence that separates us!

P1190812 P1190815 P1190816

 I’m enjoying the outdoors so very much.  But we must go back in. I look to the side and back and everything, just everything give me this ahhhh feeling. P1190842 (1)  P1190843 (1)  P1190864

I go to the room and pack. P1190838 As I go downstairs at the doorway are two sets of rubber boots!  P1190873 Dominique is outside and he tells me that the boots are just in case we want to take a stroll in the back.  The weeds are overgrown and it may be wet so he brought us boots.  Since I am not going to take him up on this offer he takes me around his garden.  P1190870 P1190878 I so want to stay but we are continuing on today to Cap Frehel and Fort La Latte.  We say our good-byes.

At the Cap we find two lighthouses.  One, built in 1950 you can climb.  P1190880 (1)

P1190881 (1)  We do that and are rewarded with beautiful views.  P1190890 (1)  P1190885 (1) P1190886 P1190887 (1)

P1190899 (1) From here we can also see the smaller one constructed in 1685.

P1190896 (1)

On the way down the 145 steps I wonder why I didn’t make use of this chair when I was going up!  P1190903 (1)

P1190906 (1) We walk the surrounding area.  P1190908 (1)

   It’s windy but I am thoroughly enjoying this walk.  P1190917 (1)  P1190918 (1)  P1190931 (1)

The water is crystal clear in places.

P1190939 (1)

A school group listens their teacher intensely.  I imagine none have vertigo since they are pretty close to the cliff. P1190986 (1)

We go towards where the car is parked to then drive to Fort La Latte.  P1190990 (1)  P1190992 (1)    P1200001 (1)

Forts of all kinds as well as walled cities fascinate me.  Something comforting about a place that protects itself from the outside world attracts me.  I choose to not think of the reason why a wall and such strong edifices are needed in the first place.  The approach to the fort is almost soothing.  You pass the caretaker’s home and continue down the path to the fort.  P1200002 (1)  P1200004 (1)  And here it is.  P1200010 (1)  We enter through a drawbridge.  And as soon as we do there are cannons and other instruments of war/protection.  P1200014 (1)  This is a bricoleP1200017 (1)  The water is crystal clear here too.  P1200031 (1)  The vegetation is so pretty.  P1200040 (1)  P1200038 (1)

And the view from one of the towers is exquisite.

P1200068 (1)

 P1200069 (1)

Once on the ground these daisies along the fence do a lot to keep a smile on my face.

 P1200082 (1)    P1200081 (1)

And I just loved this mailbox on a house on our way to the car. P1200088 (1)   We drive and encounter Brittany’s idea of rush hour!  P1200090 (1)

We have made a reservation at a hotel in Sene:  Chambres D’Hotes Villa Sahara.  When we arrive it looks more like a house than a hotel.  Parking lot empty.  Note on door:  “If you arrive please call this number and someone will be here soon.”  We had paid through a website already so I call the number.  Yes, her son will be there soon.  He arrives and hurriedly opens the door, tells us he needs to go back to the rugby game.  Shows us the room and gives us the key.  Oh, and we are the only guests so we can consider the place ours.  So we own a B&B for a night.  🙂 P1200098 (1)  P1200096 (1) P1200095 (1)  The key ring that he gave us even has an “L” on it.  P1200100 (1)  In the morning we wake up to people coming in to make us breakfast and promptly leaving just to return before we leave onto our next destination!

Categories: Uncategorized | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Here’s the Key, Need to Get Back to the Rugby Game

  1. Ah, Lidi…J’adore l’ironie. You said, “Forts of all kinds as well as walled cities fascinate me. Something comforting about a place that protects itself from the outside world attracts me.”

    And yet you put yourself “out there” constantly in all your travels.

    But that may be exactly why it appeals to become a little chicklette nestled in her snug safety.

    Great photos…I especially love the views from the lighthouse and fort. While I appreciate being able to study detail, I’m in even more bliss when I can see forever.

  2. 🙂 You are quite right actually. I can always count on you for observing/noting something I thought no one would.
    I love having you among my readers!!!

  3. I felt like I was there myself. A beautiful trip with unforgettable adventures. Wish I can go here one day

  4. Thank you for the virtual vacation. I loved – and needed – it badly!

  5. Hi, Lidia. Love the photos. Uhmmmm. I’m imagining I’m there…..

    • Thank you. 🙂 Love that I can paint the picture. Haven’t had my laptop with my iPhoto these days but am getting it back tomorrow and it’s back to blogging full force.

  6. Thank you for these pictures and thoughts. I feel as if I were right there, with you. I’d love to stay in the farmhouse…

  7. And in return, Lidia, you have brought back memories for me. We also visited the Cap and Fort la Latte – in fact, the window in the caretaker’s cottage? It’s one of the ones in my attic windows post. 🙂

  8. St. Malo is indeed a restful place! We loved how quiet yet friendly the city was and the fact that despite being a popular destination, it has maintained its mellow vibe!

  9. You’ve taken my breath away – again!

  10. Brilliant photographs which tell the tale so well, one does not really need to rely on the equally fascinating accompanying script. I particularly liked those two aerial shots from the tower. Specially that wide angle one of the curved pathway is spectacular!

    So what was your take-away from that trip?

    Shakti

    • Thank you so much Shakti! Your praise is so very appreciated.
      The trip was beyond any of my expectations. I have not blogged the rest of it. Think you are encouraging me to do so.
      🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

