Letting Go and Feeling Naked Once Again…

Two years ago I wrote a blog, On Feeling Naked…, that revealed more of me than I really wanted to.   A lot has happened since.  This post, is a bit of a continuation on a tradition that I started back then.    It won’t deal with travel, Travel as most of you are used to from me, and neither will it have photos that may delight or appeal.  It won’t be long, or at least I don’t mean it for it to be so.  It’s a bit of a stream of consciousness so I perfectly understand if you – just about now – decide to leave.  Monks, kids, leaving

 

I twist it around my finger.  It is loose.  I slowly, very slowly start sliding it off.  My movement is fluid but comes to an abrupt halt as it reaches the nail bed.  Wedding Band, Gold Band I twist the band once again, close my eyes and, in one swift move, slide it into my right hand gripping it and surrounding it.  Three years ago my movements were reversed and I was sliding my mom’s wedding band on.  It took me almost two years  to be able to take it off.   I lost track of where it was after that and assumed I lost it.  In the first days of January of this year it surfaced unexpectedly.  I took it as a sign and decided that I would wear the simple gold band the first two months of the year as a tribute to the union that gave birth to me and made me who I am. Both my parents passed in 2010.  My mom in January and my father in February.  Today, the last day of February, it is time to take it off once again.

Pouting  I hate goodbyes. Goodbye Looking back a few years, it seems that I have been bidding farewell to so very much.  To places.  To life as I know it.  To sentimental bonds.  Every one of those separations, be they physical or emotional has brought me a greeting of some sort that has made me happy, Happy changed me and enriched me but I still am not fond of them.

The band is still ensconced in my hand.   I open my fist and am certain that I will not wear it again.  This time I must really let go.  The song from Disney’s Frozen, Let It Go, comes to mind and am grateful that it does,: for one line says: “Let it go, let it go and I’ll rise like the break of dawn…”

You will always be with me Mom and Dad MaandPa and I will forever be grateful for so much that you have given me.  You can let go of my hand now.  I need to take the rest of the journey alone.  I'll Be Fine

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Letting Go and Feeling Naked Once Again…

  1. Miguel Najera

    My haiku for you…

    You’ve gone thru a lot of pain an endurement I recognize A shadow in the corner of my eye

    • You are a poet too Miguel! Haikus are one of my favorite styles. Something super hard to express so much in such a constrained mode. You have achieved it.

  2. Beautifully put

  3. Like everything you write I love it.

    • Fanny,
      You are most kind. And I must say that I am so very appreciative of your support and enjoyment. We need to take another trip together some time!!

  4. Any actress can bare her body, it takes a real artist of depth and courage to reach down and reveal a soul, and Miss Lidia when you go there you reveal a truth that is matured and constructed though pain and beauty, in the end we all see the Technicolor flowers of life and smell the fragrance of overcoming, rebirth, and a symphony of smiles reaching for that brighter day. I am better because of this and am learning to let go a little myself. Thank you for this!

    • Dr. AC,
      Your beautiful words always warm my heart and make me smile.
      Nothing pleases me more than be able to say you are my friend!

  5. Dick Heimbold

    You are a good writer—as well as story teller and photographer!

    • My mentor, professor and friend,
      I am most grateful and honored by your comment. Now I need to go back to you so we can add painter to the mix. 🙂

  6. Eduardo Borges

    Comencé a leer con apenas muy poca atención ya que estaba ocupando mi mente en otra cosa a la vez, hasta que me topé con: I twist it around my finger y vi la foto del anillo. En ese momento mi mente dejó todo lo demás para “escuchar” atentamente tus palabras. Y como me provocaste esa emoción, ya que me doy cuenta de que transmites con un inmenso amor lo que tu corazón está sintiendo, tenía que compartirlo contigo. Y lo hago a modo de agradecimiento porque sé que estas compartiéndolo para todos aquellos que realmente aprecian tu presencia en este mundo. Gracias por este momento especial.

    • Edu,
      El que creó un momento especial para mí eres tú con tu comentario.
      Me doy por agradecida con sólo el hecho de que pude, con mis palabras, transportarte a otro lugar y sentimiento.
      Soy yo la que está agradecida por tener amigos como tú y tener gente que pone atención a mis divagues.
      Gracias por tomarte el tiempo para escribir tu comentario.

  7. Thank you for sharing such a poignant message with your readers, Lidia.

    • Thank YOU! I always marvel and am extremely humbled and grateful that people take the time to read my ramblings. 🙂 By the way I really like how you guys write your blog.

      • Thank you Lidia! So happy you enjoy reading our posts. 🙂 It is so much fun to share our stories with so many people. We are also very grateful that our readers enjoy reading our travel tales. 😀

  8. Hello Lidia. Have not visited with you in a while. I hope you’re all right.

    • Hi! I have missed my blogging friends! I have, however, been away dealing with a lot of things and am touched by the fact that you checked on me!
      I am going to start fresh again blogging since I am writing for Hispanic News Online and it will link to this blog!
      Glad to be back and again… thank you for your friendship!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

