About last night…

I get home and play with Viola and Falstaff, my fur-babies niece and nephew, for a while. I stop, make sure their cat flap is on lockdown, put on the alarm and head out. Nothing out of the ordinary. Going to get a bite to eat and come back.

I have a bloody mary and fries at Zinqué which satisfies my nostalgia for France since I think the owner is French and it is spoken all around me, but it leaves me feeling guilty for the calories I inhaled. So I walk for a bit.

I am walking away from the house towards the beach, where I walk every day, with no intention of actually reaching the beach. Ah, but I look up and the allure of a sky that predicts a truly glorious sunset cannot be ignored. 20170801_195348

So I go, already feeling the sand between my toes.

There is some hesitation in my step for I won’t be able to share this one with anyone. 20170801_194918All hesitation vanishes when I direct my sight to this sky with its fading light, and color show. 20170801_195601   20170801_195135_001Tonight the sky is all mine. And the embrace I receive is from life itself reassuring me that all will be alright. 20170801_195408

My mind and body slow down and I take it all in. Though I’ll never be a beach bum, a beach girl I am. Fitting, for it is Yemanyá, the goddess of the sea and moon, who is my mother orishá.

A reminder to write along the way.  20170801_200152  20170801_200139

 

 

And another that my gender rocks.

 

And another…. 20170801_200237 (1)

 

And I reach home content.

Categories: Uncategorized | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “About last night…

  1. How timely, for many. Thank you, love it! 👍🏽💓

    • Mary, I will be thinking of you today. Good luck. Go in with the confidence everything will be allright!

  2. Richard Yniguez

    Lovely! This is your calling face it and send us more of these jewels! Big hug

  3. xox

    On Wed, Aug 2, 2017 at 7:47 AM, Lidia The Explorer wrote:

    > lidipiri posted: “I get home and play with Viola and Falstaff, my > fur-babies niece and nephew, for a while. I stop, make sure their cat flap > is on lockdown, put on the alarm and head out. Nothing out of the ordinary. > Going to get a bite to eat and come back. I have a bloo” >

  4. “Tonight the sky is all ours” To dream perchance to dance in an ethereal embrace…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

